Constituent Assembly Of India

This article gives insights about Constituent Assembly of India, members of constituent assembly, basic information and facts about constituent assembly. This article also answers question like how many female members of constituent assembly were present, members of drafting committee of constituent assembly of India, inaugural meeting of meeting of constituent assembly was presided by whom etc.

Constituent assembly of India was formed to draft the constitution of India. It was founded on 6th Dec 1946, worked for about 3 years and eventually dissolved on 24 Jan 1950. The idea of Constituent Assembly was first proposed by M.N. Roy in 1934 who belonged to Communist movement in India. The idea of Constituent assembly later became the main voice of Indian National Congress in 1935. The British gave their formal acceptance for the forming the Constituent assembly of India on 8 Aug 1940. The members of Constituent assembly of India were elected by system called single transferable vote of proportional representation from all provincial assemblies. Initially there were 389 elected members of constituent assembly out of which 292 were representatives of states, 93 were from princely states, and four from provinces of Delhi, Coorg, Ajmer and Baluchistan (one each).

constituent assembly of India

Key features about Constituent Assembly of India

  1. Constitution of India was framed by Constituent Assembly which consisted of 389 members, out of which 292 were from Provinces, 93 from Princely states, 3 from Chief Commissioner Provinces and 1 from Baluchistan.
  2. Constituent assembly held its first meeting on Dec 9, 1946 and elected Dr Sachhidanand Sinha, the oldest member of assembly as the provisional President.
  3. On Dec 11, 1946 the assembly elected Dr Rajendra Prasad as its Chairman and Dr H.C. Mukherjee as vice president. B.N. Rau was appointed as constitutional adviser.
  4. Strength of the assembly was reduced to 299 (229 representing Provinces and 70 representing Princely States) following withdrawal of  Muslim League Members after participation of country.
  5. There were 9 female members of constituent assembly. Rajkumari Amrit Kaur, Hansa Mehta, Durgabai Deshmukh, Dakshayani Velayudhan and G. Durgabai were the prominent one.
  6. Jawaharlal Nehru presented an objective resolution on 13 Dec 1946 in the assembly. This resolution served as the guideline for framing up the constitution. Later this resolution was accepted as preamble to Indian Constitution. 
  7. B.N. Rau made the first initial draft constitution based on his research of different countries constitution.
  8. The Constituent Assembly set up 13 committees for framing the constitution. On the basis of reports of these committees, a detail draft of the constitution was prepared by a seven member Drafting Committee under the Chairmanship of Dr B R Ambedkar.
  9. Constituent assembly prepared first draft constitution on 26 Nov 1949.
  10. The draft constitution was published in Jan 1948 and people were given 8 months to discuss the draft and propose amendments.
  11. After discussions and suggestions received the same was finally adopted on Nov 26, 1949. Though the major part of constitution came into affect on Jan 26, 1950, Provisions related to Election, Citizenship, Provisional Parliament etc came into effect on Nov 26, 1949.
  12. Constituent assembly finalised the constitution and made it to effect on 26 Jan 1950. This day is better remembered as Republic day of India. Constituent assembly itself became the provisional parliament of India and continued working till the first general elections were held in year 1952.