Interesting Facts about Indian National Flag

Indian National Flag which is also called “Tiranga” has three horizontal strips of colors namely Saffron at top, White in middle and Green at bottom. It also encompasses Ashoka Chakra in centre. The Saffron color symbolizes courage and sacrifice, white color represents peace while green color represents greenery and prosperity. The Ashoka chakra(wheel) is of blue color and has 24 spokes. It represents cycle of life and continuity.  The length to width ratio of flag is 3:2. It has to be hoisted in horizontal position. This tricolor flag was adopted as Free India National Flag on 22 July 1947.

Indian national flag tricolor

Historical Facts about Indian National Flag

There were several other flags which were used and adopted during the period of Independence struggle from 1907 to 1947 which are as follows –indian national flag of 1906

  • The first Indian flag showing religious symbols and Eight number of Roses marked with “Vande Matram” was hoisted on 7th Aug 1906 at Parsi Bagan Square in Calcutta (Kolkata).

indian national flag of 1907

  • The second Indian flag with partial modifications was hoisted in 1907 by Madam Bhikaji Cama during second Socialist International summit in Stuttgart, Germany.


  • A new different type third flag was used in 1917 by Bal Gangadhar Tilak. This flag had red and green strips and union jack on top left  and crescent on top right corner. It also contained 7 Stars in the form of Sapt-rishi constellation.

indian national flag of 1921

  • In 1921 a new flag came to existence with the vision of Mahatma Gandhi which contained colors according to religions. The top most white color strip represented minority religious groups, The second green color strip was meant for Muslims while the  bottom red color strip was for Hindus. In the center there was a Charkha (Spinning Wheel).

indian national flag of 1931

  • To avoid the religious inference a new flag came to existence with partial modification of the previous flag. At the top was Saffron color strip followed by White color strip in center and Green color strip in bottom. Charkha was at the center. This flag was officially adopted in the meeting of Congress committee in 1931. 

Designer of Indian National Flag

Indian National Flag in its present form was designed by “Pingali Venkayya” who was an educationist and freedom fighter from Krishna district, Andhra Pradesh. His design was modified by Indian National Congress before being adopted as Indian National Flag on 22 July 1947.

 Rare, unknown, Interesting Facts about Indian Flag

  • Karnataka Khadi Gramodyoga Samyukta Sangh of Hubli reserves the sole manufacturing rights of Indian Flag. No any other institution can manufacture the Indian Flag. The guidelines about design and specifications are prescribed by BIS (Bureau of Indian Standards).
  • The cloth used for the Indian Flag must be Khadi. Using a flag of any other material except khadi is a punishable offence with imprisonment of maximum 3 years.
  • The raw material ie Woven Khadi for manufacturing the Indian Flag is supplied by only two handlooms unit in India – i) Dharwad, ii) Bagalkot districts of Karnataka.
  • Before year 2002, the normal citizens on India could not hoist the Indian Flag except on Republic day and Independence day. In 2002 Supreme Court of India amended the Flag code and allowed Indian citizens to hoist the flag any time as per Flag Code.
  • As per BIS there are 9 standard formats of the Indian National Flag, and the largest size 90 x 60 ft flag is hoisted at Connaught Place, New Delhi.

Indian National Flag Codes of conduct 

  • It has to be hoisted in day light(in between sunrise and sunset).
  • It has to be hoisted in horizontal direction with the saffron color on the top.
  • No other flag or any symbolic representation should be above it.
  • The National Flag or its look alike in any form must not be used for trade, cloth wear, cover etc.